LITTLE THINGS TO DO TO SNEAK FITNESS INTO YOUR DAILY LIFE

19 Feb


 

The LITTLE things that we can do every day ADD UP to big success on our health and strength goals.

 

I listed some of the little things that I do below. I’d LOVE to hear about the little things you do!

 

 

 

  1. Often I wear my workout clothes under my regular clothes because it makes it easier for me to work out if I’m already ready!
  2. I take two stairs at a time when I go upstairs.
  3. I sit on the floor a lot. Every time I get up to get something I stand without using my arms to push up. Even if you have to kneel and push with your hands to get up, you get stronger every time you do it!
  4. This month I was part of a burpee challenge. The goal is to do 1000 before the end of the month. I’ve learned that I can get a lot done if I do them in small sets frequently throughout the day. The total done at the end of the day is definitely respectable.
  5. Cut high calorie things like cheese into smaller pieces and keep them in a baggie for when you want a snack. Tell yourself that you can have a certain number and it feels like you can eat more because they are cut into those smaller pieces.
  6. After making your soup, put it in the refrigerator so the fat will congeal on top. Scoop off and throw away the fat before reheating it.
  7. Take the stairs instead of elevators whenever you can.
  8. Park a little farther away from the building so you get a little more walk time.
  9. Use every trip to the bathroom as a reminder or cue to yourself to do 10 or so of some exercise before you leave the bathroom.
  10. Stand in a squat while brushing your teeth.
2 Responses to “LITTLE THINGS TO DO TO SNEAK FITNESS INTO YOUR DAILY LIFE”

  1. peacefulhands9 February 20, 2014 at 4:19 am #

    I often tell my Yoga students that a great opportunity for “exercise” comes when standing at the kitchen sink. Practice a balance pose or massage the sole of your foot with a tennis ball to open up the intrinsic muscles of the foot while doing dishes (standing down dog is good, too, holding the kitchen counter as you step back). Another suggestion, always stand when talking on the telephone … sitting is one of the most damaging things we do to our bodies. Thanks for your very good suggestions!

    • leazengage February 20, 2014 at 7:29 am #

      Excellent suggestions! I will definitely pass them along! Thanks Namaste

Leave a Reply

Radical Discipleship

A Joint Project of Bartimaeus Cooperative Ministries and Word & World

Jeni McMillan

thinking about creating

Great Middle Way

No Secrets - No Sides

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Glasnost

NLU Delhi's Independent Student Newspaper

Sermons in Stones

Finding the sacred everywhere. Thoughts on religion, art, books, politics, philosophy, and life in general from a Unitarian Universalist minister.

Ricardo Levins Morales Art Studio

Writings on the arts of social change by Ricardo Levins Morales

Yoga Moods

Yoga for all your moods

zakirnaikaqeedah

Just another WordPress.com site

om gam yoga

Melbourne yoga instruction by Sophie Langley

Buy Nothing Project

Buy Nothing, Give Freely, Share Creatively

porschemama

The (mostly) German car-loving Mama's blog

bitchin yoga

observations and discriminations

A Full Day

Love-infused words on faith, sports and social justice from a black male Unitarian Universalist

revehstevens

A great WordPress.com site

The Wisconsin Vegetable Gardener

A Gardener for all Gardeners

Miss Strong, LLC

Raw. Real. Relatable.

