WHAT IS YOUR MANTRA?

31 Jan

What’s your mantra?

A lot of people might say, “Mantras are just for those people who meditate and do all that stuff.” Well, no. Your mantra is what you repeat to yourself over and over. It doesn’t need to be said out loud. It doesn’t need to be planned. It doesn’t even need to be true.

Maybe you say things like: “I’m always going to be fat” or “People don’t like me” or “I’m shy” or “I’m bad at running” or “I hate this or that”.

When I began my journey to reclaim my fitness in July 2011, I was telling myself over and over, “I can’t do this anymore.” Luckily I recognized this self-sabotaging behavior. I immediately picked a mantra. I decided to tell myself, “I am strong.”

That’s it. Three words. Every time I got on the treadmill, I had to repeat my mantra over and over. Every time I attempted to lift weights or hold a yoga pose, I had to rely on my mantra to combat the negative chatter that wanted to take over my brain.

It worked. Now, at age 65 I am very strong and I know I will get even stronger with each passing year.

I still need my mantra. For example, cardio has always been boring and challenging for me. So when I do it, my mind wants to get into whine mode. But, if I repeat, “I am strong” over and over, it is a lot easier to pick my knees up higher when I run.

So what is your mantra? Is that mantra helping you be your best self? Or, should you change it?

It’s ok if it isn’t true today. Tell yourself that you are going to pretend that it’s true until it actually is true!

Again, what is your mantra?

“Progress always involves risk. You can’t steal second base and keep your foot on first.”

– Fredrick B. Wilcox

2 Responses to “WHAT IS YOUR MANTRA?”

  1. nmiller115@comcast.net February 1, 2014 at 7:20 am #

    Great Post, Thank You, Nancy

Leave a comment

Pioneering The Simple Life

Healthy Living in Fragile Environments

Radical Discipleship

Collective. Convictional. Constructive. Concrete.

Jeni McMillan

thinking about creating

Great Middle Way

No Secrets - No Sides

Glasnost: National Law University Delhi

NLU Delhi's Independent Student Newspaper

Sermons in Stones

Finding the sacred everywhere. Thoughts on religion, art, books, politics, philosophy, and life in general from a Unitarian Universalist minister.

Ricardo Levins Morales Art Studio

Writings on the arts of social change by Ricardo Levins Morales

zakirnaikaqeedah

Just another WordPress.com site

om gam yoga

Melbourne yoga instruction by Sophie Langley

porschemama

The (mostly) German car-loving Mama's blog

bitchin yoga

Intended for Mature Audiences, May Contain Strong Lanquage

A Full Day

Love-infused words on faith, sports and social justice from a black male Unitarian Universalist

revehstevens

A great WordPress.com site

The Wisconsin Vegetable Gardener

A Gardener for all Gardeners

MacKenzie Miller Yoga

where strength and flexibility find equality.