I DID MY FIRST HANDSTAND!

7 Apr

I did it! I did a handstand for the first time ever! It wasn’t the most beautiful handstand and it only lasted for about three seconds but I did it! I consistently did handstands against the wall where I tapped the wall with one foot for just a second and then held the handstand without touching the wall at all!

Let me explain…. I set a goal to do a handstand by my 65th birthday which will be in January 2014. My apologies to those who have patiently listen to me talk about my desire to accomplish this goal. J My new goal is to do a stronger, better and longer handstand by my birthday. In the meantime, I’m aware of how much I’m learning aside from how to do a handstand. Here’s what I mean…

I’ve learned how important it is to listen to and honor your feelings. I realized yesterday that I haven’t been comfortable practicing handstands at home because I don’t have a large enough space. In the back of my mind I was worried about crashing into my weight machine or the furniture or the plants. So, I went to the gym today when I knew that the group exercise room would be empty. I jumped rope for a few minutes to warm up. Then, I started.

I went through all the handstand prep suggestions that I’ve been watching on YouTube and I tried one suggestion after another. All that felt pretty good but I got impatient. I wanted to be doing my handstand more than I wanted to follow all the steps. So, I again honored my own feelings and took a walking approach to the wall. When I did that, I found myself doing a handstand! At first I wondered if it was just a fluke. So, a tried it again. I could repeat it over and over. I was so excited!

These are the things that I understand about this process.

  • The time spent watching all those YouTube videos was very helpful. Hearing about the proper alignment and imagining doing the same steps made doing it much easier.
  • On the other hand, trusting your own intuition is key.
  • Getting to the “I did it” moment is the turning point. When you experience that moment, your picture of yourself includes the new accomplishment.
  • Even though I only did a handstand for a few seconds, I now know how it feels which is huge. I realized that headstands and backbends aren’t that hard for me because I used to do them when I was younger. I’d never experienced in my own body what a handstand felt like before. But, now I have. Muscles have memory and I know I’ll have an easier time getting there now!
  • I know it will take a long time to really do a good handstand but that’s totally ok with me. I know I’ll enjoy the process.

So, my hope is that you get to have lots of “I did it” moments. It doesn’t even matter what the goal is. Share your special moment with a friend if you’d like.

When you get one of those moments, stop and enjoy it.

Namaste

8 Responses to “I DID MY FIRST HANDSTAND!”

  1. terry4505 April 7, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    The first time I extended Crane to handstand ,I was so excited I almost fell over

    • leazengage April 7, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

      Terry – You “liked” my post within SECONDS of me hitting enter. So, thanks for being part of my excitement. I just came home from the gym and I’m still buzzing. Right after doing the handstands, I did a really heavy weight workout because I was sure I could do whatever! Anyway, I’m looking over your blog and I’m happy to have found you. THANKS again for sharing this moment with me. 🙂 I’m guessing you understand my excitement. 🙂

  2. nmiller115@comcast.net April 8, 2013 at 8:26 am #

    My Dear Lea, I celebrate your achievement with you !!!!!!! You are living proof of MLK’s famous quote that goes something like “ if your mind conceive it, and your heart can believe it, then you can achieve it.” It certainly is not just doing a handstand by the time you are 65, it is every choice you made to eat a more healthy diet, to exercise when you didn’t feel like it and most of all , never to give up. You are a great role model. Thank you for being yourself, Nancy Miller

    • leazengage April 8, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      Oh Nancy…. You are such a loving and kind person. I didn’t know that you read my blog. I appreciate your support so very, very much. I was pretty jazzed yesterday and it’s wonderful to share these good feelings with you! 🙂 Lots of love coming your way!

  3. MK April 8, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    Congratulations!! I felt the same way when I did my first headstand. And since the first one, every one after has been a sinch! I’m scared to try handstand, but I hope one day to work up to it.

    • leazengage April 8, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

      Awesome! So you understand the thrill! 🙂 I find is so fascinating to observe myself throughout this whole process. I feel the same as you – getting the first one is the hardest / turning point!! I also agree that handstand is scary (was!) but that’s part of the work, isn’t it? Thanks for your support. 🙂

  4. ericrynne April 9, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    Hah! That’s awesome! I remember my first as does everyone I think lol! Congrats!

    • leazengage April 9, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

      Thanks! It’s so fun 🙂 I appreciate the comment.

Leave a Reply

Radical Discipleship

A Joint Project of Bartimaeus Cooperative Ministries and Word & World

Jeni McMillan

thinking about creating

Great Middle Way

No Secrets - No Sides

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Glasnost

NLU Delhi's Independent Student Newspaper

Sermons in Stones

Finding the sacred everywhere. Thoughts on religion, art, books, politics, philosophy, and life in general from a Unitarian Universalist minister.

Ricardo Levins Morales Art Studio

Writings on the arts of social change by Ricardo Levins Morales

Yoga Moods

Yoga for all your moods

zakirnaikaqeedah

Just another WordPress.com site

om gam yoga

Melbourne yoga instruction by Sophie Langley

Buy Nothing Project

Buy Nothing, Give Freely, Share Creatively

porschemama

The (mostly) German car-loving Mama's blog

bitchin yoga

observations and discriminations

A Full Day

Love-infused words on faith, sports and social justice from a black male Unitarian Universalist

revehstevens

A great WordPress.com site

The Wisconsin Vegetable Gardener

A Gardener for all Gardeners

Miss Strong, LLC

Raw. Real. Relatable.

